Frances Wolverton’s Moving Violations

Before I get to my edifying prose I would like to recognize the men and women in uniform, veterans, civil servants and diplomats serving on this day. I’m talking about you Mikey.

Now down to business. I love me a good presbytery meeting. I get to sit and knit with Patty Salt who lives in Broken Marrow. I do not see her except for at presbytery meetings and it is like a reunion. That is the way I like to think about Presbytery meetings, a family reunion. That is why I feel the need to tell the leadership of our Presbytery to stop ruining it with all the talking!

I admit that I am a bit of a Robert Book of Rules Diva. I like to have things decently and in order. This is why over the years I have despaired over the length of our meetings growing like the prize pig before the state fair. Everyone wants to talk, talk, talk. Committees feel the need to talk about everything they have ever breathed. Treasurers need to talk about every decimal point. Every controversial issue needs discussion groups. People ask questions about things which are not actionable items. Meetings that should take about 30 minutes with the amount of actionable items drag on for 3 or 4 hours. It seems that the Presbyterian Parliamentary system is the best system that no one trusts. Yak, yak, yak, yak, yak. It gets a lot of our knitting done, but action, not so much. I love ya’ll, but socializing is for the parking lot. Let’s get the business done and move on! Just my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

