Presbytery Celebrates All Things Presbyterian

symbol

Our 25th annual Celebration of all things Presbyterian is going on. We would like submissions on why Presbyterianism is so important to your life.

Rev. Brian Merritt states, “It is important for me to know that I am accepted by God. This is so central to a Presbyterian understanding of faith and mine as well.”

So, please submit all the positive reasons that the Presbyterian Church is vital to your life.

7 Responses to “Presbytery Celebrates All Things Presbyterian”

  1. pinkhammer Says:

    I highly value the fact that there is room for women to use their God given gifts in PCUSA.

  2. Mark Says:

    The full participation of the laity in all aspects of church life is important to me.

  3. Alfredo Says:

    I get nervous when we Presbyterians seem to be taking Presbyterianism too seriously. I celebrate so few things Presbyterian, so many things Christian.

    • landon Says:

      I love (a la Alfredo) that we plainly acknowledge that we are but one expression of the Body of Christ. We value all other expressions, even if this is the only one that really makes sense to us.

  4. ghendershot Says:

    When things get dicey in our congregation (and they have), I know that we can get help from our Presbytery–I think it’s called being “connectional.”

  5. Carol Howard Merritt Says:

    I love the many, many people who have surrounded me and supported me throughout the last 15 years. Going from a conservative church, where women were not valued, it has been amazing for me to be in a place where my call has been encouraged and appreciated. I’ll always be thankful for people who identified my gifts as a pastor, even when I could not see them myself.

    I get overwhelmed with gratitude when I think about it….

Leave a Reply

