Frances Wolverton’s Open Letter to the Moderator

Frances

Dear Mr. Moderator Reyes-Chow,

I hope that you and your family are doing well. Seeing you criss-cross the country has reminded me that we expect so much from our moderator over a two year period with no pay involved. For that you will be given a crown in glory.

When you recently had a town hall meeting at First Presbyterian Church of Wachawaxi I was fortunate to be sitting in the front row. I was the one who talked with you afterwords about the need for the church to go back to using hymnal numbers at the front of the sanctuary. You were so pleasant and listened so intently that you reminded me of my grandson Elliot. Ever since being too close to a dynamite blast he just sits and listens to me all day long. What a sweetheart. Well thank you for listening.

The point of my letter today is technology. I am afraid to say what I think needs to be said. You talked about all the positive aspects of Tweeking, Facetime and the social median. It is no secret to anyone who knows me that I handwrite everything (I don’t trust the typewriter). Even this letter was transcribed by my nephew Frances. I think you are excluding so many people who have power in the church when you bypass us on this medium. I saw you poking at that little box while you were being announced. We don’t let people play Pac Man machines during meetings we shouldn’t let them Tweek. Those of us who have the power in Presbyteries are not going to put up with it anymore. No more sending information about Church courts (imagine if everyone knew exactly what was said instantly), Presbytery meetings (Why would you want to communicate something that I can barely stay awake through anyway) and Council meeting (Not everyone should know everything). I know that we are a democratic systems relying on an informed electorate, but those of us in power must control that information.

I know that you are concerned with making the church more inclusive. So, many of us who make all the decisions for the church want you to be sensitive to our feelings. Many of us do not know how to use those boxes with tubes and wiring that you carry. If you do not go back to pen and paper in Presbyterian forums I am afraid that we will have to force you.

In Him,

Sister Frances Wolverton

Leave a Reply

